Mazda continues to win awards for developing fuel-saving, environmentally-friendly technologies for its customers. Two Mazda engineers were presented with the Outstanding Technical Paper award at the 61st annual Society of Automotive Engineers of Japan (JSAE) presentation. Takashi Youso and Masahisa Yamakawa, both from Mazda’s Powertrain Development Division, were honoured for their research paper entitled A Study on the Relationship between Fuel Characteristics and Auto- ignition in Gasoline HCCI Engines.

Mazda has over 90 years of ground-breaking engineering expertise, and this year’s honour brings to 11 the JASE awards Mazda has won just since 2006. Last year, for instance, Mazda took home three awards for research that will be used in Mazda’s next-generation SKYACTIV vehicles – Mazda’s unique start-stop system, i-stop, its single-nano technology catalyst, and for groundbreaking research into the properties of sound insulation material.

This year’s winners are honoured for analyzing the effects of different fuel components on ignition performance of an engine using homogeneous charge compression ignition (HCCI).

The paper predicts auto-ignition timing for various grades of petrol from markets around the world, and also demonstrates how knock can be avoided when using a standard spark ignition system as well. The analysis was used to develop Mazda’s SKYACTIV-G engine which will employ the highest compression ratio (14.0:1) ever achieved in a petrol engine, while drastically lowering fuel consumption and emissions.

Recent Mazda recipients of JSAE awards 2010 Kenichiro Saruwatari won the Technological Development Award for Mazda's unique combustion restart idling stop system, i-stop Seiji Miyoshi won the Science Award for Development of platinum group metals (PGM) single-nanocatalyst technology Naoko Yorozu won an award for his paper Absorption Technique for Road Noise 2009 Motonori Ishibashi won the Outstanding Technical Paper Award for Characterizing indices of driving style and their relevance to car following behavior.

Kouichiro Harada, Hiroshi Yamada, Hiroki Fujita, Kenji Okamoto and Akihide Takami won the Technological Development Award for Development of a high-performance particulate burning catalyst with oxygen ion conductive materials.

2008 Kenji Suzuki, Kouichiro Harada, Hiroshi Yamada, Kenji Okamoto and Akihide Takami won the Outstanding Technical Paper Award for Study on low temperature oxidation of diesel particulate matters by oxygen storage component for the catalyzed diesel particulate filter.

2007 Daisuke Shimo won the Asahara Science Award for Emission Reduction in Diesel Engines through Large-Scale Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR)* and Intake Air Cooling.

Tsutomu Shigenaga and Toshihiro Yoshida won the Technological Development Award for Development and Commercialization of Environmentally Friendly High Uniformity Electrodeposition Paint.

2006 Taeko Shimizu won the Asahara Award of Merit in Technology for Long-Term Achievements in Research and Development on Vehicle Emission Analysis Techniques and Noxious Substance Reduction Techniques.

Katsuya Nishiguchi, Toshiyuki Gendo, Kenji Takase, Yohei Shoji and Kunihiko Tao won the Technological Development Award for Development of Iron-Aluminium Spot Friction Welding Technology.